You’re welcome

​It was around 7pm. Under a huge banyan tree was a cobbler, surrounded by all things in this world that are worn out and dusty. I limped towards him, all thanks to the broken heel of my shoe. When he gave me back my shoe, which now looked brand new, I said “Thank you”. He gawked at me for thirty seconds as if I belonged to a whole other universe. “Never heard those two words”, I guessed. “Under the scorching sun or in the rain”, he said, “I sit here from 8am to 8pm. Come straight to me the next time you have a problem.”  

Maybe it was his way of saying “You’re welcome”. 

-Namrata 

Also, a very Happy Independence Day to my fellow Indians. Jai Hind. 😊

Published by

namrataspeaks

Follow me on my journey from everything I am to everything I want to be.

6 thoughts on “You’re welcome”

Leave a Reply

